Fellowship Programme

About the Fellowship 

The Netherlands eScience Center is looking for individuals who have the ambition to promote or improve the use of open and sustainable research software within their organization or discipline. We invite them to apply to become an eScience Center Fellow.  

The eScience Fellowship Programme is aimed at members of the academic research community, working in the Netherlands, who are passionate to act as ambassadors for the use (and reuse) of research software. Research software can be any piece of code, script, package, tool, library, or programme written for the purpose of being used in research. The Fellowship Programme supports those who want to promote or improve the awareness and use of open and sustainable research software within their institute or academic community. In 2024-2025, we expect to grant 20 applicants an eScience Center Fellowship.   

Each Fellow is expected to carry out activities to this end within the duration of their Fellowship (12 months). Any activities related to improving awareness or use of research software will be considered. Applicants are also welcome to use the Fellowship to boost existing initiatives or activities that fit the purpose of the programme. Examples of relevant initiatives and activities include:  

  • Creating a tutorial around a research software package developed in-house.  
  • Creating a series of videos on good research software practices.  
  • Inviting speakers on the topic of sustainable research software for an interactive seminar.  
  • Running a hackathon where researchers can improve the reusability of their research software and exchange ideas.   
  • Setting up a discipline-specific community to exchange expertise about digital tools within the applicant’s field.   
  • Increasing the visibility and awareness of research software in the applicant’s field. 
  • Increasing the visibility, appreciation and wellbeing of researchers who write code in any way.   

The eScience Center and its Fellowship Programme support Open Science principles. We encourage applications to include activities that focus on open source software and aim to make their outcomes openly available to relevant communities. 

The deadline for this open call has now passed. Please stay tuned for the next call.

Benefits of being a Fellow

The eScience Center will support the Fellows to ensure the successful completion of their planned activities. During the 12 months of the Fellowship, we offer Fellows: 

  • A point of contact at the eScience Center, who can give guidance on the Fellow’s planned activities and put the Fellow in touch with other (eScience Center) experts. eScience Center staff will spend a maximum of 40 hours in guidance and consultancy to the Fellow during the Fellowship year. 
  • Support to spend up to €2000 towards expenses and consumables. 
  • Have access to Special Interest Groups (SIGs) meetings at the eScience Center. The Center has a few different SIGs where employees meet to share and learn about different topics. There are SIGs on data analytics, Machine Learning, Natural Language Processing, software sustainability, soft skills and more.  
  • The opportunity to join relevant eScience Center meetings to stay updated about technological developments in specific academic disciplines. 
  • A professional workshop that will help them with their skills to create impact within their institute or research community. 
  • The opportunity to reach a wider audience through the eScience Center network. For example, there may be opportunities to publish relevant blog posts on the eScience Center website, or Fellows are invited for presentations at eScience Center events.  
  • Three gatherings with other Fellows a year in an informal setting, to exchange experiences and expand their network.  
  • Visibility on the eScience Center website as an eScience Center Fellow.  

Who may apply?

Applicants should be passionate about research software and be able to act as an ambassador for research software. Applicants should be based in the Netherlands.      

Applicants for the fellowship programme could be: 

  • A researcher who focuses on the application of research software as part of their research, 
  • or, a developer who writes tools for researchers, 
  • or, a research software engineer who supports the work of researchers with software, 
  • or, an advocate for best practice in software use for your research domain. 
  • or, an individual in a leadership role in projects or organisations that make heavy use of research software,

Not sure if you are eligible to apply? Join the information event on 21 February, 2024 to find out more, or reach out to the Fellowship coordinators at  

How to apply

he application should be written using the form that can be downloaded on this page (see “Downloads”). A more detailed description of the Fellowship Programme can be found there, as well. 

The application should include:  

  • A plan that describes how the Fellow will contribute to improving the state of research software within the Fellowship year. This must include   
  • A reflection on the awareness and/or use of research software in the academic community, discipline, or field of the applicant.  
  • A description of the applicant’s objectives related to improving research software. 
  • A description of the activities that will be undertaken to achieve the applicant’s objectives.  
  • A justification of why the applicant is well situated to execute the planned activities, and act as an ambassador for research software.  
  • A timeline for the proposed activity or activities, running for 12 months from the start of the Fellowship, starting June 2024 until end of May 2025.  
  • A budget plan, outlining how the personal budget of 40 hours of eScience Center expertise (“in-kind support”) + €2,000 will be used. For a list of topics in which the eScience Center has employees with expertise, see appendix B. The plan should also outline the expenses and consumables the budget will cover in the form of declared costs. 

The deadline for application is 08 April, 2024, 14:00 CET. For more details on further steps in the application procedure, see the full application text. 



Ana Martinovici
Bastiaan van der Roest
Burcu Beygu
Claudiu Forgaci
Daniela Gawehns
Davide Spalla
Dörte de Kok
Ernestine Lahey
Jan de Wit
Jan Koster
Joshua Peterson
Maarten Hornikx
Mariken van der Velden
Pedro Hernandez-Serrano
Roelant Ossewaarde
Serkan Girgin
Süleyman Er
Ammar Ammar
Sven Baars
Diana Bocancea
Francien Bossema
Serena Defina
Joshua Dijksman​
Alexei Karas
Thomas Pronk
Gabriele Sarti
Raoul Schram
Mirko Signorelli
Meron Vermaas​
Katharina Waury
Funda Yildirim
Ankur Ankan
Anne Mickan
Eduard Klapwijk
Esther Plomp
Henk Cremers
Leonard Wee
Linda Nab
Manuel Garcia Alvarez
Mara Bialas
Minsi Li
Nicholas Judd
Peter-Paul Zwetsloot
Rosa Aguilar
Stefan Kirsch 
Stephanie van de Sandt
Stijn Peeters
Tina Rozsos
Vincent de Boer
William Riley
Yorben Lodema