Over 300 researchers visit National eScience Symposium 2017

18 Oct 2017 - 2 min

This year’s edition of Science in a Digital World featured over 30 speakers and the announcement of the Young eScientist Award winner 2017: Frank Takes (read more).

The five thematic sessions, on Internet of Things, Energy Science, Natural Language Processing, Brain, Cognition and Behavior and The Future of Machine Learning were co-organized with SURFnet, Shell-NWO progamme, CLARIAH, NeuroLabNL and Commit2Data.

View a selection of photos below – for more photos visit our Flickr album.

The program, including all speakers and abstracts, can be viewed here.

Photography: Elodie Burrillon / http://hucopix.com

Wilco Hazeleger (Director Netherlands eScience Center) welcomes everyone at Science in a Digital World
Paul Rullmann (Chair of SURF) opens Science in a Digital World

Cecilia Aragon (University of Washington) gives her keynote presentation on ‘The hearts and minds of data science’

Demo and poster exhibition
Discussion in the Brain, Cognition and Behavior session (with NeuroLabNL)

Discussion in the Internet of Things session (with SURFnet) 

Young eScientist Award 2017. From left to right: Maureen van Eijnatten (winner 2016), Frank Takes (winner 2017), Rob van Nieuwpoort (Director eScience Technology, Netherlands eScience Center)
Diederik Jekel delivers closing keynote on ‘Living in a scientific revolution’