The winner of the Lorentz – eScience competition 2018: Artificial Intelligence in Cybersecurity

25 Jul 2018 - 2 min

We congratulate Robbert Fokkink (TU Delft), Roy Lindelauf (Netherlands Defence Academy), Arnout van de Rijt (Universiteit Utrecht), Paulo Shakarian (Arizona State University) and V.S. Subrahmanian (Dartmouth College) on winning the competition for the Lorentz-eScience workshop with their proposal ‘Artificial Intelligence in Cybersecurity’. We are very pleased that we can continue this program with such a high quality and interesting workshop.

About the workshop

There is a growing community of computer scientists, mathematicians and computational sociologists conducting research in, and communicating ideas on:

  • Mining key-terrorists, criminals and hackers on Dark-web forums and markets
  • Game theoretic cyber threat mitigation
  • Identifying pathogenic social media accounts such as ‘fake news bots’
  • Identification of cyber threats from online discussions.

The central topic around which these researchers meet and conduct research is the analysis of phenomena related to cyber from different perspectives: mathematics (network science), computer science (cybersecurity) and computational sociology (social networks).

This workshop aims to get academic problem formulations related to cybersecurity more in sync with the practical end-goals of the practitioners in the field, and to have practitioners gain a wider understanding of state of the art practice in the academic field of cybersecurity research.

About the Lorentz-eScience competition

The Lorentz-eScience workshop competitions, organized by the Netherlands eScience Center and the Lorentz Center, sponsor leading-edge international workshops on the application of software to advance academic research. The workshops should bring together researchers from the academic scientific community with those from the public/private sector.